recipes · Uncategorized

Taking Some Whisks – The Cinnamon Cookie Experiment

Hello, it’s me. I was wondering if after all these years you’d like to eat {cookies}.

love cookies, like I can’t stress enough how much I LOVE them. They are my go-to baked snack, and along with my best friend, we have perfected our own double chocolate cookie recipe. The bad news for me is that this came before the doctors told me to give up gluten and dairy so if I make these, I can’t eat them! I already made a chocolate cake for my housemates which I couldn’t eat and it made me very very sad because it looked bangin’.


Chocolate Heart CakeTell me that doesn’t look good! Sadly, not one I could enjoy and as this was pre-giving up dairy I ate some of the left over chocolate buttons and then had some fun nausea and had to vom just a lil bit. TMI? Sorry but we keep it real here!

So given that I love baked goods and hate missing out on the fun, I’ve been experimenting with cookies. Cookie number 1 was so vile that it didn’t get photographed, but it was made from blending some oats, bananas and cinnamon together and baking for about 12 minutes. 0 out of 10 would not recommend. They looked and tasted grim AF.

So I got me some GF flour and knowing how to make a basic cookie I asked myself ‘what can go wrong here?’. Turns out, a lot!  But as they say, life is about taking whisks!


Ingredients

  • 2 and a half cups of gluten free flour, I like Doves Farm (because it was the cheapest in the shop)
  • A bit more flour when the mixture is too wet
  • 2 cups of brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon of vanilla essence
  • 1 teaspoon of ground cinnamon
  • 1 egg (my most successful attempt so far used 2 and it was very wet)
  • 1 teaspoon of baking powder
  • 1 cup of vegetable oil (is this weird and gross? It feels like it is but I just knew I needed some kind of fat)

    Cookie bite outThe best attempt so far, not the best texture but that’s just the way the cookie crumbles…Literally

    Method

  1.  Add flour, oil, egg and sugar to a bowl. Mix into a dough but discover it is too wet. Add some more flour using the reliable measuring device that is your eyes
  2. Add a teaspoon of vanilla essence, then decide you want to make them cinnamon, so add a teaspoon of that too
  3. Realise you probably need some kind of raising agent. You aren’t sure about this, so you add a teaspoon of baking powder just in case
  4. Mix it all up. The aim is a dough, but that isn’t what you’ll get here!
  5. Because the mixture is too wet to roll into balls, use a spoon to spoon the mixture onto a baking tray
  6. YOU FORGOT TO PRE-HEAT THE OVEN. Do that now, set it to 175°c
  7. Bake for 15 minutes
  8.  Take them out of the oven. If you’ve followed this recipe correctly, the cookies should have all merged together into one big cookie blob. That’s what you’re going for. Life isn’t about individual beauty, it’s about togetherness, duh!
  9. Eat.

So, these cookies are the best I have made so far. I’m sure a recipe would yield some great cookies but I’m not one to make life easy, and baking is a metaphor for life.


cinnamon cookie

Beauty is in the eye of the bake-holder…

I forgot step 10, pick out the best looking cookie, steal your housemate’s plate and chopping board, photograph for Instagram. As Kim K once wisely said, ‘Instagramming photos of food isn’t sexy’ and I’d say that’s apt in this case.

These had a weird texture, they were more cake-y than cookie-y, but you live and learn and next time I’ll do better.

If you’ve made it this far, I would like to interrupt your irregularly scheduled content with a brief health chat. This isn’t so much an update on my health, but a rant. I’ll keep it short. Why are my tests too expensive to run while I sit crying in the doctors surgery almost every week? Why have I been prescribed medication that I can’t actually take because of medical advice to cut out certain allergens? WHY AM I ALWAYS IN PAIN? Why don’t I feel like I’m getting anywhere? And *relax*, I feel a bit better now, hooray!

Stick around for some dairy-free / vegan hot chocolate reviews. *SPOILER ALERT* they are more expensive than bloomin Fabergé eggs!

XOXO Gossh!t Girl

Leave a comment